:::Main content

What's New

【Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform】International Call for Composition & Peter Eötvös Composition Masterclass

【Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform】International Call for Composition & Peter Eötvös Composition Masterclass

In 2019, The National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying) and the Peter Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation signed a Memorandum of Understanding for cooperation in fostering young talents in composition and conducting of contemporary music.

In 2020, The National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying) is to hold International Call for Composition for the first time. Maestro Peter Eötvös, renowned for his long-term dedication and contribution to educating young talent, will lead a composition masterclass to the participants. At the end of the course, the members of the Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform Academy will give a showcase concert led by the young conductor Su-Han Yang.



People of all nationalities, aged 35 or under.


Restrictions on compositions

  1. Instrumentation: The maximum instrumentation is listed as below (soloist included):

    1 Clarinet (including bass clarinet)

    1 Bassoon (not including contrabassoon)

    1 French horn

    2 Violins

    1 Viola

    1 Cello

    1 Double bass

  2. Length: 10 minutes or less.
  3. The submission is not limited to new compositions, recent compositions that have been performed are also eligible.
  4. One submission per person.


Maximum amount of acceptance

Six person.



All application shall be done online: https://weiwuying.surveycake.com/s/YbGgA
N.B. The Chinese introduction of the composition shall not exceed 500 characters, the English version shall not exceed 400 characters.


Uploading documents

Please prepare and upload all the documents listed below:

  1. The composition must be typed and uploaded as a PDF file and name in the following format: “English name of the participant_ English title of the composition
  2. A signed affidavit to declare the author of the composition (PDF).
  3. A copy of both sides of the applicant's ID card or a copy of passports (PDF).



    All application should be sent to the presenter before 08:00, December 2nd, 2019 (GMT+8).


    Dates of the masterclass

    April 7th to 12th, 2020


    Location of the masterclass

    Rehearsal Room, National Kaohsiung Center for the Arts (Weiwuying).



    1. The masterclass is offered free of cost to participants, but participants have to be responsible for their own traveling expenses as well as board and lodging during the period of the masterclass.
    2. Participants will get one free ticket for the opening concert of the “2020 Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform” on April 11th, 2020.
    3. The final concert shall be held on April 12th, 2020, participants shall authorize the presenter to record the concert.


      Contact : +886-7-2626816/artisticplanning@npac-weiwuying.org Please indicate the subject on the letter: 【Contemporary Music Platform-International call for composition】



      Peter Eötvös

      Photo:Peter Eötvös, Composition Master

      Composer, conductor and teacher: The Hungarian Peter Eötvös combines all three functions in one very high-profile career. Born in Transylvania in 1944, he has long been considered one of the most significant and influential personalities on the music scene as both an internationally recognized conductor and a composer of successful operas, orchestral works and concertos, written for well-known artists from all over the world.

      Eötvös attaches great importance to passing on his extensive knowledge and experience to others. He taught at the music college in Cologne and Karlsruhe. In 1991 he founded the International Eötvös Institute and Foundation, in 2004 the Eötvös Contemporary Music Foundation in Budapest for young conductors and composers. He regularly conducts master courses and seminars all over the world, e.g. Paris, Luzern, Basel, Luxemburg, Szombathely, Madrid etc.

      In addition to his roles listed above, Peter Eötvös is regularly re-invited as guest conductor by the most important orchestras and opera houses.




      Su-Han Yang

      Photo:Su-Han Yang, Conductor

      Su-Han Yang, who currently lives in Berlin, Germany, is the winner of the 10th Grzegorz Fitelberg International Competition for Conductors’ first prize. Other notable achievements include being invited to conduct the Silesian Philharmonic, the Polish Baltic Frédéric Chopin Philharmonic, the Ignacy Jan Paderewski Pomeranian Philharmonic and the Arthur Rubinstein Philharmonic Orchestra of Łódź.

      In the 2019/2020 season, he will be conducting the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Hungarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Brandenburg Symphony Orchestra, the Gliwice Chamber Orchestra, and has again been invited to be the guest conductor of the Silesian Philharmonic.

      In 2018, Su-Han Yang was selected to participate in the Mentoring Program founded by composer/conductor Peter Eötvös, being recognized as one of the up-and-coming conductors to receive this master’s guidance. In July 2015, he was chosen to participate in the first Riccardo Muti Italian Opera Academy, established by its namesake, being selected from over 300 applicants as one of the four conductors to be personally instructed by the master on Verdi’s opera, Falstaff.


      The Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform Academy

      The Weiwuying Contemporary Music Platform Academy aims to systematically train local young instrumentalists for contemporary music playing through rehearsals, seminars and masterclass’. The academy has been created in 2019 and is led by conductor Lin Liao since its creation.




      Close the window

      Dear Weiwuying Youth member,
      Congrats! You are qualified to renew free membership for one year.

      Please upload any proof of current student status before , or you will loss the rights and become a general user.